The Newcastle Newmarket Handicap results can often be unpredictable, with handy runners often dethroning top horses. In 2013, Bello defeated Laser Hawk and Famous Seamus, both fairly big names.

Looking over past Newcastle Newmarket Handicap results can be helpful in a minor way. In 2009, Walking Or Dancing took out third and then came back in 2010 to be crowned the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap winner.

Usually though, your best punting results will come from simply analysing the field as it stands. There aren’t a lot of tricks to predicting the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap results or placegetters. Just study the form, see how the horses are running, and then make an educated estimation as to which horse can run out the fastest 1400m at Newcastle Racecourse.

The first ever Newcastle Newmarket Handicap winner was Seacraft, back in 1955.

Notable Newcastle Newmarket Handicap winners include Heroic Victory (1961), Brandy Lad (1964, 65), Sylvan Ridge (1972), Manuan (1983, 84), Vain Fury (1985), Bezeal Bay (1998), Hey Pronto (2002), He’s Remarkable (2012) and Mecir (2014). Newcastle Newmarket Handicap results, winners and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Newcastle Newmarket Handicap

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Artistry Nancy Armovatio 1:19.9
2015 Laser Hawk Scorpio Queen Mighty Lucky 1:21.9
2014 Mecir Strawberry Boy Slow Pace 1:23.0
2013 Bello Laser Hawk Famous Seamus 1:21.2
2012 He`s Remarkable Dao Dao Star Of Octagonal 1:22.5
2011 Keepin The Dream Purrpurrlena So Anyway 1:22.2
2010 Walking Or Dancing Brilliant Light Emperor Bonaparte 1:23.7
2009 Soho Flyer Chasm Walking Or Dancing 1.20:9
2008 Falaise German Chocolate Friday Creek 1:21.5
2007 Danzippo Diamond Sun High Cee 1:22.5
2006 Tall Timbers Bentley Biscuit Gorgonite 1:22.5
2005 Patezza Cool Front Gabfest 1:23.1
2004 Platinum Scissors Mantario Carael Boy 1:22.4
2003 Zabarra Carael Boy Grand Armee 1:23.2
2002 Hey Pronto Lord Essex Lets Compromise 1:22.9
2001 Crawl Indominate Phoenix Park 1:23.5
2000 Spying Corporate Bruce Beauchamp 1:24.2